Nerd Diary

IMG_20180223_005554_252.jpg
Me … being an Overwatch nerd

 

Well, long time no see! (See? Read, long time no read? You know what I mean).

Today I felt like reflecting on some of the nerdy things that have been peppering my life recently, if only to make sure I’m appreciating them.

ReadingIMG_20180326_132303_780.jpg

The stand out books that have made their way out of the “to read” pile would have to be Scythe by Neal Shusterman and Children Of Blood And Bone by Tomi Adeyemi. I’ve already finished Scythe, and though I could nitpick at the character development of the main two protagonists, I really liked the world that it presented and the interesting questions that it brought up about Humanity, death, and immortality. Children Of Blood And Bone is getting a lot of attention and so far (I’m only a third of the way through) deservedly so. Very quickly, Adeyemi builds a rich, interesting world and the more I discover, the more I want to know. There’s also a really great cast of characters that I quickly warmed to. It’s a definite must for fantasy fans. I’m also re-reading Harry Potter And The Prisoner Of Azkaban, but for a specific reason. An audio book for my boyfriend. I record myself reading each chapter, and he can listen to them while at work. That way I get to share one of my favourite books with him and it’s at a pace he’s happy with. It’s also given me a great reason to start using my microphone. (Not gonna lie, I love my microphone cos it’s so cute!)

Watching

A few days ago I finished Jessica Jones season 2. If you had asked my opinion of the season while I was halfway through, it wouldn’t be great. It felt like they had some ideas for a handful of storylines and simply started them all just to see if anything interesting would happen. It really didn’t feel like it had any direction, it was wandering through plot ideas. However, the second half kicked it up a notch, got some focus, and was really compelling to watch. Also on Netflix, I’ve started watching Little Witch Academia. I hadn’t watched anime for a while so I was happy to break this dry spell (pun most definitely intended) with a good series. It definitely has a strong Harry Potter feel to it with a helping of The Worst Witch, but there’s also a wonderful charm to the anime that makes me want to keep watching.

IMG_20180325_205011_537.jpgLearning

My journey into the Japanese language continues. It’s been a little over a year since I started and I’m still having a lot of fun. I very recently started to learn some Kanji, and simply being able to read and write just a few simple sentences in Japanese (with Kanji, not just Hiragana and Katakana!) is so satisfying! I’m currently trying to get into the habit of using HelloTalk, which is basically a social media app for language learners. It’s just a simple way to use a bit of Japanese everyday to keep honing those skills. I also posted two short videos to my Instagram where I try to speak Japanese, basic stuff, but I hope it will help me get used to the idea that people will hear me speaking this language and I won’t be as nervous when I have to use it for real life. Well, in theory, at least. Also, just yesterday, I re-found the Girls’ Generation The Best album on Spotify and have been resisting the urge to dance ever since.

What nerdy things have you been up to? Feel free to share the geekiness here, on my twitter, or on Facebook. All nerds welcome.

Vrepit Sa!

Leave a comment